SME Logo

2018 SME Member Council

The SME Member Council was created in the fall of 2003 to lead the member engagement activities of SME's volunteer networks. It is responsible for assisting SME in recognizing and meeting the needs of its membership in a rapidly changing environment, building on the long-term SME strategic goals, strengthening local activities and formulating recommendations relative to SME membership recruitment, retention and engagement.

To learn more about the overall activities of their Member Engagement Initiative and about the Member Council subcommittees, visit SME members interested in being considered for a seat on the Member Council may apply by submitting an International Director/Member Council Candidate Application . We also encourage you to learn more about the SME Member Council by reading its monthly From the Desk of... e-newsletter.


Jason JonesJason B. Jones, PhD
Co-Founder and CEO
Hybrid Manufacturing Technologies

Council Representatives

Vesna CotaVesna Cota
Technical Specialist
Tyco Electronics Canada ULC
Melissa ParrilloMelissa T. Dochter
Business Development Specialist
Schneider Electric
Lou DorworthLouis C. Dorworth
Manager, Direct Services Division
Abaris Training Resources Inc.
Ronald GillRonald A. Gill, CMfgE
Manufacturing Consultant
Gill Enterprises
Karl HaapalaKarl R. Haapala, PhD
Associate Professor
School of Mechanical, Industrial, and Manufacturing Engineering
Oregon State University
Lonnie LoveLonnie Love, PhD, FSME
Corporate Fellow and Group Leader
Manufacturing Systems Research Group
Oak Ridge National Laboratory
John KovalchuckJohn Kovalchuck, LSME, CMfgE
CNC Instructor in Engineering and Advanced Technology
Macomb Community College
Kyle RiegelKyle Riegel
Research and Development Engineer
United Equipment Accessories
Cary RosenbergCary J. Rosenberg, CMfgE
Global Commodity Manager/Supplier Quality & Development Manager
Watts Water Technologies Inc.
Brock StrunkBrock T. Strunk
Chief Structures Engineer
Epic Aircraft